Planning Commission


The Planning and Zoning Division performs a variety of services intended to protect, maintain, and develop an attractive, safe, and healthy environment. Primary functions address property development and land use activities occurring in the City.


The Planning and Zoning Division provides direction and leadership in implementing the goals, objectives, and policies of the City as adopted by the City Council. 

View the 2022-2027 Carlin Master Plan to learn more about the goals, objectives, and policies determined by the Planning Commission and City Council.

The Carlin Planning Commission is appointed by the Carlin City Council from letters of interest submitted by volunteer citizens of the community. The Commission is designed to consist of seven (07) members, which all must be bona fide residents of the City of Carlin. The Planning Commission meets the first Wednesday of each month at the Carlin City Hall meeting room at 7:00 p.m. The Planning Commission reviews and submits recommendations to the Carlin City Council for special use permits, variance requests, planned development, zoning issues and other non-conforming uses. The Planning Commission coordinates with county and regional planning agencies for a well developed community. 

The Current Commission Members are:

  1. Karla Jones - Chairperson
  2. Jan Brizee - Vice Chairperson
  3. Khatlyn Micheli
  4. Anna Claudine Meierhoff
  5. Liza Micheli
  6. Open Seat
  7. Open Seat

City Council Liaison:

  • Cameron Kinney


Melinda Harris
Planning Commission Secretary/Asst. City Clerk

151 South Eighth Street
PO Box 787
Carlin, NV  89822

Ph: (775) 754-6354
Fx: (775) 754-6912


Monday - Thursday
8:00 am - 5:00 pm
8:00 am - 4:00 pm